Birthday Blog Hop

Welcome to Carrie Ann Ryan’s birthday blog hop day!

As a kid, birthdays were wonderful (except for the time when my crush hit me in the head with a balloon). I was a chocoholic then and I still am now so birthdays usually consisted of chocolate cupcakes with homemade chocolate icing and colored sprinkles. My mouth waters just thinking about them. These grand occasions usually consisted of a party either at my house or at a local pizza joint with several lucky kids from my class.

With age, birthdays have definitely evolved. I’ve reached a point in my life where I just accept them. They still remain an exciting day because they’re your day, but I don’t necessarily jump for joy at the thought of becoming a year older. I’m comfortable with it because it just is. Admittedly, I look forward to the many trips I’ll make to Barnes and Nobles afterwards as the majority of family and friends, who know me, get me B&N gift cards.

No, these days it is not the big parties or dinners for me that woo me. In actuality, I love planning birthdays for my family and friends. There is something so rewarding seeing their face light up because you’ve nailed the perfect gift or a beautiful party. Even better when you catch them by surprise. I’m a baking fanatic as well so having the opportunity to bake cakes for family, friends or co-workers is fun too. In fact, that is what I’m going to do after writing this blog. Don’t worry, if the cake comes out well, I promise to share the recipe.

What about you all? Why not share what you do or don’t like about birthdays. One lucky winner will win a free $20.00 gift card to Amazon or B&N from my blog. In addition to this, all will be entered in to win one of two grand prizes:

1)      A Kindle Touch

2)      A $60.00 Amazon or B&N gift card

You have until 11:59 EST of the sixth to to comment so give it a try (and don’t forget your email!!!). The winner for my blog will be announced on the 7th and Carrie Ann Ryan will announce the two grand prize winners. Oh and of course, Happy Birthday Carrie Ann Ryan!

Carrie Ann Ryan http://www.carrieannryan.blogspot.com/
Lia Davis www.authorliadavis.com/
Beth-Ann Mason www.bethannmason.com/blog
Writer,Author,Husband,Dad jamieheppner.blogspot.com/
Natasha Blackthorne jamieheppner.blogspot.com/
Romance Book Club blog.romance-book-club.com
Daryl Devore myeroticnotions.blogspot.com
Eliza Gayle elizagayle.net/blog
Realmantic Moments http://realmanticmoments.blogspot.com/
Amber Kallyn amberkallyn.wordpress.com
Harlies Books harliebooks.blogspot.com
Wickedly Erotic by JL   Oiler www.joiler.weebly.com
Kacey Hammel http://kaceyhammellkreations.blogspot.com/
I Love Shape-Shifters michelehart.blogspot.com/
Marie Dees mariedees.com
Victoria Adams victoriaadams.blogspot.com/
The World of Heaven   Oshey http://theworldofheavenoshey.blogspot.com/
Lucy Francis www.lucyfrancis.net
Vickie Taylor www.vickietaylor.com
Tara Lain taralain.blogspot.com
Birthday Traditions www.steelestories.com
Wendi Zwaduk wendizwaduk.blogspot.com/
Megan Slayer http://theauthormeganslayer.blogspot.com/
Cari Quinn cariquinn.blogspot.com
Stephanie Haefner http://www.stephaniehaefnerthewriter.com/
Angelique Armae http://angeliquearmae.blogspot.com/
Cassandra Carr http://booksbycassandracarr.com/wordpress/
Kharisma Rhayne www.kharismarhayne.com
A Page in the Life http://leeannsontheimermurphywriterauthor.blogspot.com/
Wendy Elys Books www.wendyely.blogspot.com/
Jessica E. Subject jessicasubject.com
K.E. Saxon www.kesaxon.blogspot.com
Stacy Jubas Mysteries,   Murder & More stacyjuba.com/blog/blog/
Jessie Kimmel-Freeman http://bellanottethebook.weebly.com/blog.html
Tracy Sumners Romance   Site www.tracysumner.com
Shells Book Corner shellsbookcorner.blogspot.com/
Allison Merritt havenovelwilledit.blogspot.com
Suzzana C Ryan http://www.suzzanacryanromanceauthor.blogspt.com/
Lizzie Starr starrwords.blogspot.com
Diana Layne Blog blog.dianalayne.com/
Love is a Many   Flavored Thing – DC Juris dcjuris.blogspot.com
Dianne Venetta www.diannevenetta.com
Sharon Gerlach sharongerlach.wordpress.com
Book Lovers Haven taiyouryu.blogspot.com
Romance you Can Sink   Your Fangs into http://www.shannanalbright.blogspot.com/
Casey Crow (18+ Over) www.caseycrow.com/blog/
Writing with Kristine   Cayne kristinecayne.blogspot.com/
Just a Readers   Ramblings https://justareadersramblings.wordpress.com/
Angela Stone www.angelastone.ca/blog-3
Rawiya Erotica rawiyaerotica.wordpress.com
Conversations with   Lisa Mondello www.lisamondello.blogspot.com
Passions Recalled and   Celebrated christineleovlealand-author.blogspot.co.nz/
Bull Protettore http://bullprotettoremurdermysteries.blogspot.com/
Louisa Bacio – Love   Knows No Bounds louisabacio.blogspot.com
Cat Johnson catjohnson.net/2012/04/06/blog-hop/
Cynthia Woolf www.cynthiawoolf.com/blog
Diane Alberts dianealberts.com
Patrica Green Books www.patriciagreenbooks.com
Discovering Nya Rayne http://discoveringnyarayne.blogspot.com/
Categories: Uncategorized | 43 Comments

Post navigation

43 thoughts on “Birthday Blog Hop

  1. Birthdays aren’t a big deal to me or any of my family members. We usually just have a nice meal and a cake. Love the b-day cake!

    acm05atjuno.com

  2. I love spending time with my family. I try to make my kids birthdays all special!
    Thanks for participating in the hop.
    Happy Birthday Carrie Ann!
    slinkydennis@yahoo.com

  3. savannah miller

    Thanks for the chance to win! My kids are 4 and 1 so birthdays are still a big deal for us! I try to make them memorable for my kids… and on a budget I get creative with decorating. I
    brandon_savannah@yahoo.com

  4. Maggie O'Malley

    I love birthday cake. nuff said.

  5. Happy birthday, Carrie!! Yum chocolate.
    What I love about birthdays? Everything. The whole celebration. It’s one day that is YOUR day and only your day unless of course you were born on Christmas lol, We’ve always celebrated bdays so I’ve always found them to be fun. I guess I’m a big kid at heart.

    Great post,

  6. ebondreams

    I love cake period…happy birthday Carrie Ann

    Nichelle

    ebonysbbwnikki@yahoo.com

  7. Juliana

    I love cheesecake with strawberry sauce on my birthday!
    Thanks for being part of the Birthday hop!
    OceanAkers(at)aol(dot)com

  8. Hmmm, I’m not a big holiday sorta gal, unfortunately, and that includes birthdays. I used to love ’em as a kid, because of course I liked getting stuff. Now, they’re pretty much just a hassle, though I love seeing my boy’s face when he opens his presents. The girls are too young yet (just over a y/o) to appreciate presents.

  9. I love celebrating birthdays 🙂 Well other peoples, mine I would assume sleep through lol
    Guess as long as there’s cake, it’s all good 😉

  10. Melissa Limoges

    Ha, I’m with Nichelle! Cake! It’s pure greatness. Happy birthday, Carrie!! Eat a lot of cake!

  11. Vanessa N.

    Love the hop. Thanks for the giveaway.

    mythic021@gmail.com

  12. Sherry S.

    We never really celebrated birthdays when I was growing up so we love to have parties for my nieces and nephews. I love seeing how excited they get about everything. I love cake and ice cream at the parties too.
    sstrode at scrtc dot com

  13. Dianna Breeden

    friends instead of gifts
    diannaandpaul@yahoo.com

  14. Jennifer Lowery (Kamptner)

    Love birthdays, hate balloons! Terrified of them even today and rob my poor kids of them at their birthdays. We improvise 🙂 Fun blog hop! Thanks!

  15. Honestly? I love the cakes and hate the clean-up 😉

    eripike at gmail dot com

  16. I love balloons for birthdays. I hate picking them up afterward.

    liana (dot) brooks1 (at) gmail (dot) com

  17. I must be the weirdo in the group, lol.
    I always hated when mine was, 5 days after x-mas so I got a lot of Christmas-slash-birthday presents and no, a poinsettia or Santa or snowman cake does not count! Huff 🙂
    So my mom started getting me a giant cookie for mine, so it was totally different. I loved it. They’re now totally common but when I was little, at least where we lived, it was actually something you had to pre-order which made it extra special. I loved my cookie 😀

    Aine @ House Millar
    anya.millar@gmail.com

  18. Megan G.

    Birthdays are great, it is another day to celebrate having that person in your life.

    Megan G.
    Megonski216(at)yahoo(dot)com

  19. Happy Birthday!! I love all things birthday. I especially love to plan the parties for others.. Of course, chocolate always goes with it.
    Mel
    bournmelissa at hotmail dot com

  20. Deb Pelletier

    I love Cake and more Cake, did I mention that I love Cake. Deb P
    r.d1@myfairpoint.net

  21. Nikki

    I really love my daughters birthdays. It means so much to me to see her face light up and to see her get so excited!! It just makes me happy!! Great giveaway!!

    viajeradelmar@aol.com

  22. caitymack

    Love family parties, lots of good food and laughter.

    caity_mack@yahoo for com

  23. Shadow

    I like quiet birthdays. Simple, just spending the day with my family. The one thing i do hate about birthdays, the crowns! Boy! Do i hate those things. lol Thanks!
    shadowluvs2read(at)gmail(dot)com

  24. Kay

    I love spending time with friends. That’s what birthdays are all about! 🙂
    Thank you for the opportunity! 🙂

    sumopalk (at) gmail (dot) com

  25. Lisa Walker

    I love watching the birthday girl/boy open their presents!
    Thanks for the generous giveaway!
    I follow your blog by email
    Happy Birthday Carrie Ann!
    sqwalker2@hotmail.com

  26. Happy Birthday Carrie Ann
    I love the cake, my favorite birthday is the first one for my kids when thry dig in to their very first birthday cake. My #9 Ephraim got a chocolate cake with green icing and he made a mess his face was covered with chocolate cake and green icing everywhere even in his hair, I love it. My 4th grandchild turns 1 in Texas at the end of the month and I think he may be the first I miss, now I have tears, I love the wee thing so much.
    Z
    Seawitch Reviews @ yahoo.com

  27. Kassandra

    Birthdays aren’t that huge of a day around our house but we do at least try to get what the person wants for dinner.

    sionedkla@gmail.com

  28. Susan W.

    Birthday’s, meh. Cake, YUM!!! Birthday cake is good any day!
    suz2(at)cox(dot)net

  29. Catherine Lee

    I love Carrie Ann and I’m glad to wish her a HAPPY, HAPPY Birthday. And how sweet that she and her friends are giving away things on her special day.

    I love that my hubby takes me out on my birthday, to a favorite restaurant of choice. More special is my hubby’s b’day, which is also our anniversary. I give him a birthday gift and he gives me any anniversary present. It’s a Win-Win day!

    catherinelee100 at gmail dot com

  30. June M.

    My favorite thing about birthday are just spending time with my family.
    June
    manning_j2004 at yahoo dot com

  31. VanillaOrchids

    I don’t like celebrating my birthday because, for one reason, it never seemed to matter what I wanted. I remember once my mom asked what kind of cake my twin and I wanted. We said we wanted an ice cream cake. She went and bought a regular cake because she likes regular cake and not ice cream cakes.

    Thank you for the giveaway opportunity!

    Pam
    vanillaorchids69(at)gmail(dot)com

  32. Lexie@BookBug

    I love birthdays! My mother-in-law throws the best theme parties for everyone’s birthday (and it’s a big family so we do a lot of celebrating!
    Thanks for the giveaway!
    lexie.bookbug at gmail dot com

  33. Sue Sattler

    I make a list before my birthday for the books that I want because I know I’m getting gift cards! It makes my birthday something great to look forward to.

    proudarmymom32(at)yahoo(dot)com

  34. JOYE

    The best thing for me on my birthday is the cake and ice cream. I don’t eat much dessert the rest of the year but i do on my birthday.

  35. I am uncomfortable celebrating my own birthdays – probably because my parents didn’t celebrate them.

    Thank you so much for participating in this hop and for the amazing giveaway chance!

    Happy Birthday to Carrie and to everyone that has an April birthday!

    email sub robertsongena@hotmail.com
    Twitter follower @mystchevia

    Gena Robertson
    robertsongena@hotmail.com

  36. booksaver

    Happy Birthday Carrie Ann and everyone else who celebrates a birthday this month. My daughters usually take me out to lunch for my birthday and I always enjoy that. My sister usually gets me something lighthouse related because she knows I love lighthouses.

    Linda
    seriousreader at live dot com

  37. bookattict

    Birthdays are awesome! You get parties AND cake AND presents! Almost mitigates the trauma of getting a year older (but that’s what alcohol is for!)

    elizabeth @ bookattict . com

  38. Cheryl Lynne

    I love birthdays.The presents and chocolate cake! Thanks for the giveaway!cheryllynne(at)rocketmail(dot)com

  39. Blog Hopping! Woohoo! Hoppy Easter Everyone! Happy Birthday Carrie Ann!

    What a great way to discover new authors/blogs and visit with old friends. Everybody wins this way!

    My favorite cake is Red Velvet Cake. YUM! Cake, presents, family, friends; it don’t get much better than that. LOL

    Thanks for being part of the hop and for the chance to win such a fantastic prize!

    reneebennett35(at)yahoo(dot)com

  40. bn100

    I like the cake.

    bn100candg(at)hotmail(dot)com

  41. Shannon

    Cake? Yep, I’m in!

    bas1chsemail at gmail dot com

  42. Tina B

    Happy Birthday to Carrie Ann!
    Thank you for the giveaway and participating in the hop.
    My favorite thing about my own birthday is the cake!
    My favorite about others’ is giving gifts to friends and family. I love to see that the gift/card that I put thought into made them smile.

    trb0917 at gmail dot com

  43. flchen1

    What I love about birthdays is spending time with people who are special to me and enjoying a meal and/or a fun experience with them. I guess it’s about making more memories 🙂

    f dot chen at comcast dot net

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

