Why Do Writers Write?

I consider myself a person with one foot in the world of writing and another in the world of reading. I separate the worlds because some people write and don’t read much and other people read and don’t write. Today, I’d like to share with you my point of view on why writers write.

I’ve been writing with the intent of sharing my work for over three years now. I wrote before that. Poems as a kid, stories as a teenager and day dreams as an adult. I’m a story teller by nature. That is why I write. In between writing, I read. My voracious appetite for words spans several genres but I often enjoy a good love story as it makes me happy for a few hours. For that reason, I chose to start my writing career in the romance genre. Fortunately, there are tons of resources for romance writers so it has been a great genre to really hone my writing skills.

So I told you why I write but I want to try to put you in the mind of a writer. Show you how writing is more of a need than a want although admittedly, it is a bit of both for those who are happy being authors. As I said before, I’ve always written. But my writing was more of a hobby and not something I took seriously. I never genuinely thought I would ever try to write as a professional. And yet as I’ve gotten older, day dreams began to consume me. Little scenes would play out in my mind like moving pictures.

Many writers say their characters talk to them. It’s not to say we are actually having conversations with characters in our head. We are puppet masters with live puppets. We imagine conversations but at times what we imagine doesn’t always flow and the characters take over. That’s the way it should be. In a good book, we authors are merely interpreters of our characters’ stories. The readers don’t hear our voices in the books they read but they hear the voices of our characters.

I hope this post has helped you understand why writers write and why many of us aspire to be authors and share our work with readers. If you aspire to write and can’t seem to shake the desire, give it a try. You just may discover a new passion. And for those of you who already write, keep living your dream.

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Why Do Writers Write?

  1. Jennifer Lowery (Kamptner)

    Wonderful advice, Toni! I think I will 🙂

  2. How absolutely true. When I was trying to explain writing to a friend, I said, I have people in my head that need their stories told.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

