Featured Author Thursday: Nikki Lynn Barrett

Ladies and Gentlemen, please welcome wonderful author, Nikki Lynn Barrett!4437_1090856669700_2534921_n

Nikki Lynn Barrett lives in Arizona with her husband and son. She’s an avid reader, a dreamer, and loves everything about books. She runs a book blog, an online used bookstore, and writes various genres of romance. Nikki can also be found outside with her camera when a storm is near, snapping photo after photo. Her dreams of becoming a writer started when she was young, when she started writing books in one subject notebooks by the fifth grade.

Nikki’s latest book, A Masterpiece of Our Love is now available (see buy links below!) and Becca, our heroine is here to tell us a little bit about this book and her version of a hero:

 

Hi everyone! I convinced my author, Nikki Lynn Barrett, to let me do the talking today. I, um..I’m not the best at these speech things, but I figured I’d give it a shot.

Some of you might or might not have heard my story. I was just eight when my family was taken from me, victims of a plane crash. I couldn’t tell you how or why a little thing like me made it through and they didn’t. It’s something I don’t understand to this day. I spent five days alone on a tiny island off the coast of Maine with Hunter until we were found. He was only twelve, but Hunter saved me. He cared for me and made sure I was safe, even when a lot of things were happening. I stopped talking…I guess it was the brain trauma, but Hunter was always there.

Sometimes, a bond forms with someone you least expect. That’s the kind of bond Hunter and I have. Some disagree with it, they think we should stay away from each other so we can move on, but you can’t erase a bond like that. And you can’t just forget what happened.

To this day, Hunter’s been the one to always give me that final push. I struggled. I wanted to be normal, and he was the only one who accepted that and helped me strive for it. He doesn’t consider himself a hero, but he is and always will be my hero.

A lot of things have happened in the duration of our story. I won’t give things away, but there were some major changes. Our bond grew stronger, but now it’s being tested. We learned some things that neither of us can remember from before.

Life is a story. It’s a challenge. I’m glad my author wrote a story for Hunter and I, and we’ll continue on for two more books. I hope you’ll give A Masterpiece Of Our Love a chance.

 Thanks for reading!

– Becca

 

amasterpieceofourlove
Two Lives Torn by tragedy.
Eight-year-old Becca and twelve-year-old Hunter cling to each other and life after surviving a plane crash which stole their families.
Two Souls Seeking Love.
Each year, from the time she was old enough to travel on her own, Becca met up with Hunter on the island that altered their lives forever.
Until he stopped showing.
Her constant. Her link to the past. Gone in the blink of an eye.
Two Lives Bound by Secret.
Suffering more heartbreak, Hunter returns to the one place he’s always sought comfort, the island where he and Becca met. It was the place that stole from him, and in the same instance gave to him. He hasn’t been back or spoken to Becca in four years.
Though he’s sure she must hate him for disappearing, Hunter discovers the girl gone, now a woman in her place. Hunter is determined to prove to Becca he isn’t the same twelve-year-old boy of yesteryear.
But someone isn’t happy about their reunion…
Strange things begin happening. Letters start showing up in their hotel rooms and at home with cryptic messages.
Two Broken Hearts Heal as One.
With the mystery unsolved, Hunter convinces Becca to spend the remainder of the summer back home with him, both for safety and to give them a chance to discover the adults they’ve now become.
Will love get a chance to blossom, or will the past come back and tear the masterpiece of their love apart once and for all?
Excerpt:
Before she turned to walk back into her room, Becca nodded. Her nostrils flared. Despite the fact that she did that out of anger, Hunter found it kind of cute. At that thought, he stopped cold. What was with him? He stole one last glance in the direction Vince had gone before moving into Becca’s room. In the corner by the window, he spotted her easel and the unfinished painting sitting there. Just as he thought, she’d begun to capture this morning’s scene.

“It’s going to be perfect.” He pointed and smiled.
“I’ll have to finish it later.” Becca perched at the edge of the bed. She heaved a sigh. “I’m so irritated! But I’m also bothered. Vince went to my apartment and found a letter which he thought was okay to open. That in itself makes me mad, but the letter- what it said…”
Hunter flew to her side and sat next to her, his instincts on high alert. “What did it say? Can I see it?”
“I’d let you see it if I were smart enough to ask Vince to give it to me.” She shook her head. “It said ‘You left me to die’.”
“What the hell?” Hunter shouted, startling Becca. He reached for her. “Sorry, I didn’t meant to scare you. With the letters we both found earlier … do you think they’re connected?” Why hadn’t he gotten one at home? Or maybe he did and no one had noticed yet. Not that he wanted to get one, but if Becca did, he figured it was only a matter of time before Shara or someone else told him about a letter.
The only thing that connected both of them like this was the crash. But why after twenty years would they start getting letters? Twenty years! This made no sense.
“I can’t imagine them not being connected,” Becca said quietly. Her body trembled slightly. “I just don’t get it. Why now?”
Thunder rumbled outside. Another storm was coming. Hunter wrapped her in his arms and rested his chin on the top of her head. She smelled so sweet. Whatever shampoo she used, he liked it. “I imagine this has to do with the plane crash. I just don’t know why it would come up now, either. And what the letters say doesn’t make sense to me.” You left me to die? That sounded as if there had been someone else on board. But no one else had made it! They’d been the only survivors!
Hadn’t they?
Hunter did not like second guessing himself. Sure, he’d been young, but wouldn’t he have remembered another survivor? It made him sick to think of the possibility that he could have saved another person and hadn’t. “How much do you remember about that night, Bec?”
“I don’t have many memories after the crash, other than you finding me and pulling me to land.” Becca ran a hand through her hair, eyes narrowed.
Categories: Featured Author Thursday, Toni Kelly | Tags: , , | 5 Comments

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “Featured Author Thursday: Nikki Lynn Barrett

  1. melissakeir

    Wonderful post! I wish you many sales!!

  2. Nikki Lynn Barrett

    Ack, so sorry I’m late commenting! I forgot what day it was! LOL. Thanks for featuring me on your blog!

  3. Enjoyed reading the excerpt Nikki. Sounds like a wonderful story.

  4. You are one busy lady, Nikki! Great post! Congrats on the release-love the cover!

  5. Your story sounds like an emotionally wonderful story. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

